Belize

Belize City does not exactly top the list of tourist destinations in Belize. Many tourists choose to bypass the country’s only major urban area. The city has a bad reputation for poverty and crime. I remember driving through it briefly last time we were in Belize, on our way to the jungle for an all day Cave Tubing Adventure. I remember thinking how dirty and what terrible living conditions, lots of wild dogs roaming around… I remember, and I would have been nervous to stop.

Since that time in 2009, we have been to many places like this. In South America and Asia. Many places, too numerous to mention. I am more aware, I wouldn’t say I am not as nervous about stopping and looking. Belize city is known for not being great, BUT this time I didn’t want to do an excursion, I wanted to SEE Belize city. I wanted that experience!

Belize City is the historical capital of the country, making it an interesting place to explore. Its ramshackle streets are alive with colorful characters representing every facet of Belize’s. The scenery is not just  canals and grungy slums, but also beautiful colonial houses, seaside parks, bustling shopping areas and sailboats that bob at the mouth of Haulover Creek. We took a tender from the ship to Belize City and enjoyed our day in the port and outside the cruise village exploring!

PS~ On an interesting note though… There was a city government election today. Schools and some businesses were closed and a little “extra” security around…just in case riots broke out! Not something I wanted to get caught in the middle of. ( I’ve seen riots in Rio)

IMG_0258

IMG_0256

IMG_0280

IMG_0295

IMG_0282

IMG_0317

IMG_0297

IMG_0307

IMG_0312

IMG_0308

IMG_0326

IMG_0330

IMG_0324

IMG_0382

IMG_0327

 

IMG_0339

IMG_0388

IMG_0364

IMG_0362

IMG_0379

IMG_0386

IMG_0389

IMG_0378

IMG_0398

IMG_0401

IMG_0402

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “Belize”

  1. I had read a lot about Belize being a great expat spot for Canadians. But reading your opinion gives me a different perspective! Looks like you had a fabulous trip! 🙂

    1. Hey Angie, We had a wonderful time. Belize is interesting, I’m not sure if I would want to be an expat there. It reminded me of Brazil very much. I have friends who were missionaries in Belize for years working with the native Garafuna people. They had both their girls while living there and love the country and the people. It is a very poor country and the government is corrupt so there can be rioting and unrest…Hmm? Not sure I would want to expat there. Now, Honduras YES!!!! Even Costa Rica although I have not been there yet… Thanks for reading my blog. Are you going to the reunion this summer?

Leave a Reply

