In Honor of THE GOAT…SHEEP…RAM

TODAY is CHINESE NEW YEAR’s DAY in China. Two weeks of celebration and fireworks. THE YEAR OF THE GOAT ( or sheep or ram)

I was surprised to see Canada Post carrying these special stamps for Chinese New Year!

“Celebrate the Lunar New Year and the 8thcreature in the Chinese zodiac.”

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 6.38.02 PM

The stamp shows three rams welcoming spring under a plum tree—a New Year’s image created by stamp designer Hélène L’Heureux and inspired by China’s Danxia Mountains. The ram is a symbol of good fortune, kindness and justice.  ( And just so happens like I said yesterday, my Chinese sign)

The Danxia mountain is formed from a reddish sandstone which has been eroded over time into a series of mountains surrounded by curvaceous cliffs and many unusual rock formations (Danxia). It is described on the local signage as a “world famous UNESCO geopark of China”. They are a beautiful sight and one of many David & I would have loved to see when we were living in China. So many places…that’s why I want to go back!

So…Because we can get them in Canada and because it’s my Chinese Year and I can’t be in China, I treated myself. Call it a “China Birthday” present. I bought a full sheet of stamps. They are a permanent postage type of stamp so I can use them for years to come. I just thought it was so cool!

IMG_3110 IMG_3113

Year of the Goat 2015

Yep, Chinese Goat Girl! 😛

Have a great day! It’s another snowy one in Nova Scotia 😛

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

