There’s a BLiZzArD out there!!!

Ok…TODAY is a two post day!! Some days are like that.

Brr!!! Cold, snowy and BLOWING up a storm!!! Yep, we’re having a real old fashioned blizzard 30-50cm of snow expected over the next two days. The joys of Canadian winter. As if we didn’t already have ENOUGH snow!!!! Blah and David had to go in to work 5am this morning. IMG_8305 IMG_8307 IMG_8306 Saturday was so beautiful. The calm before the storm. TODAY, and into tomorrow is blustery and cold.  James, Laura & I went out to shovel. SO MUCH SNOW!!!!!!

IMG_8308 IMG_8309 IMG_8311 IMG_8312 IMG_8314 IMG_8312 IMG_8316 IMG_8319 IMG_8321 IMG_8324 IMG_8325 IMG_8326 IMG_8328 IMG_8330

Round 1 done, NOW  to stay cozy inside and enjoy Mongolian Hotpot!

I was wondering what I could make for lunch. I have a roast slow cooking in the oven for dinner tonight. But I have been so hungry for Authentic Chinese. On a cold winter day, there is nothing like a good Chinese hot pot to warm you up.

The Chinese hot pot has a history of more than 1000 years; it is a marvellous creation by Chinese and has spread over to many other countries. Chinese Hot Pot refers to a kind of stew/soup sort of…using a constantly boiling metal pot of stock (as broth/ soup base). Placed at the centre of the dining table, raw and fresh ingredients are laid out around the pot. Typical hot pot dishes  include thin slices of meat, vegetables, mushroom,  and a variety of seafood. The ingredients are cooked in the simmering pot and usually eaten after dipping in sauce. I LOVE HOTPOT!!!!

I have been missing it so much so I had to try and come up with something. I bought some fresh beef and pork thinly sliced. I like sheep but couldn’t find any here. Bought the mushrooms and some greens, lettuce and asparagus. I had sesame paste and I bought some cilantro to mix up the sauce ( my favourite type of sauce) I figured my fondue pot would work great for the pot.

IMG_8331 IMG_8336 IMG_8332 IMG_8334 IMG_8337

The hot pot originated from the Mongolians and first appeared in China early Qing Dynasty. It became popular after the Manchu army passed the Shanghai Pass in 1644. Early in the 18th century of China, during the reign of Emperor Kangxi and Qianlong, Hot Pot was  a featured dish in their royal cuisine. In 1854, a Zhengyang Restaurant was opened outside Qianmen in Beijing. This became the first Han restaurant with Hot Pot. The restaurant was renowned and exceptionally famous for its mutton being sliced as thin as paper. I LOVE this!! Hotpot today has become widely popular in most of China, ESPECIALLY in the north on these cold days!

And now I know I can do it even here in Canada. Just a little tweaking to make it even better next time 😛

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

