February is Carnival month in Brazil!

February is the shortest month of the year but it seems that there is more festivals and fun and holidays in this short month than in any other month.

We have some fun things coming up in the next few days to celebrate in Canada: ( Valentine’s Day, Flag Day, Heritage Day, Winter Break for many, Winter vacations)

In countries we’ve lived…Chinese New Year is just around the corner, and while I still love to think and talk about China things, I can’t forget Brazil. After all, we did live there for a year and a half too. I don’t tend to talk about it near as much because my favourite of the two countries we lived was China. But Brazil… absolutely beautiful country, delicious food, friendliest people, and they have their share of festivals and events too!

February 13th is the kick off to Carnival this year.

Rio Carnival has become world-famous through the Samba Parade, a show, a display and competition among the Samba schools. I love Samba music.

Block parties are fun…street bands, street parties, parades…and EVERYONE dresses up! David and I did when we were living there!

071 129 126

Balls and Dances. This year’s Magic Ball is tomorrow ( Valentine’s Day here but not in Brazil) at the famous Copacabana Palace.

I love reading about all these things because I know EXACTLY where these places are and what events happens ( I can see it) It’s really cool and so much fun.

So to kick off the weekend and in honor of Carnival… I went for a walk in the snow in my Havaianas and we’re listening to Brazilian music, gonna watch the movie Rio tonight ( the first one is better than the 2nd) and…Dinner is a nice juicy grilled STEAK with mushrooms, french fries, and grilled pineapple with cinnamon brown sugar, key lime pie minis and espresso, and…of course caparinahas! haha. I didn’t feel like trying to make pastels and empanadas and those fun things. BUT steak and lime pie is great to celebrate Brazil ( especially when it’s been snowing off and on all day)

IMG_8207

DSC08554

IMG_8219 IMG_8240 IMG_8212

IMG_8194

IMG_8242 IMG_8228

And I just love having these fun days in the Winter to pass time. Maybe I also need to turn the heat up too…it’s Summer in Brazil right now, 37 degrees at the beach in Rio today!!! David & I did go for a quick tan tonight (getting a little color for our trip) so that works too!

Boa noite!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “February is Carnival month in Brazil!”

Leave a Reply

