wEiRd FoOd

…from my childhood… that only I would LOVE! ( Probably my sister doesn’t even eat these things)

The kids and I were making lunch last week and making sandwiches. I LOVE sandwiches, I just really shouldn’t be eating the bread so I don’t have them a lot…but maybe once every few weeks, and it’s a treat.

I asked them what they prefer on their fried egg sandwiches and they both had different answers. But none like it like I do. Laura likes them like her Father, with mayonnaise and cheese and James likes his bread toasted with butter and cheese. ME? Well…I like mine with mustard…AND chocolate milk! Yep! Just like my Mom used to make when we were kids. And I can even eat them cold as in a picnic lunch. One of my favourite childhood memories.

IMG_7910

Then we got talking a little more. I like balogna sandwiches.( once in a long while, but I do) I like them with mustard too! I know some people who eat balogna sandwiches with ketchup…even peanut butter but I’m not that weird! haha

I also love, love ( and this you’re gonna think is completely strange) Cheese Whiz and molasses. lol I know…sounds gross BUT is so good! BUT this one HAS to be on homemade white bread and only homemade bread, there is not substituting it!

IMG_7739

So that’s was our talk about sandwiches. Then James mentioned “What about creamed lettuce?” Laura didn’t even know what he was talking about. I clarified that yes, I like it too but ONLY on new garden leaf lettuce in the summer time. Creamed lettuce is just a basic dressing made with mayonnaise. Lettuce alone. Not their idea of salad.

The dish that probably is the strangest. One that I don’t make but that I ask my Mom to make once every so often because it reminds me of my Grandma ( her Mom) It’s Potatoes & Dough. This one is onions and pork scraps fried in a pan crispy and then you add evaporated milk to make the cream. You pour this over boiled potatoes and dumplings. YUMMY!!!! This reminds me… I need to ask Mom to make this for me sometime. It’s been years since I’ve last had it.

So…I don’t think too many of  you eat these weird things but maybe there is something “different” that you like, that you ate growing up as a child. What was your favourites? What food brings on those childhood memories?

My kids thank me that I didn’t pass on these tastes. But honestly, they just don’t know what they’re missing!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

