They’re in Season

They’re in season and Superstore has them, and on sale! It’s that time of year, soon Chinese New Year. I always remember buying Pomelos in China at this time because they are in season and so juicy and delicious. They are an Asian fruit that is kinda like an orange and kinda like a grapefruit but I think they are even better and I can eat a whole one everyday!! So good.

The other fruit that is around is Dragon Fruit. This fruit is interesting to look at and stays ripe for a long time but then all of a sudden it is rotten. Not that it lasts that long in my home.

Papaya is my choice from Brazil ( and pineapples and bananas…you haven’t tasted a banana until you’ve tasted one from Brazil) Since Christmas there have been ripe Papayas in the store. They are a little pricey but they are in season so the taste is so delicious.

IMG_7770 IMG_7777

I am so happy that certain times of the year I can get some of my favourite tastes from countries we lived in. In Canada we can get any fruit or vegetable at any time of the year BUT I have learned, even here, it is best to eat fruit seasonally. The flavour is so much better!! I can’t wait til this summer for strawberry season to taste fresh local strawberries again. It has actually been since the summer of 2010 since I’ve had local fresh strawberries.

A great pick me up in winter? A big fruit bowl filled with delicious fruit!

 

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “They’re in Season”

Leave a Reply

