In my backyard

This is my backyard these snowy January days! ( Well NOT today because it’s grey and snowing again!!) But yesterday…I LOVE the blue skies and sun shining. These are things I DO NOT take for granted anymore!

IMG_7661

People have all kinds of things and views in their backyard.

I have a helicopter in MY backyard! It’s not there every day. Maybe a couple times a week, maybe more often. Sometimes I see it. Sometimes I don’t, but I hear it. Yesterday I heard it a lot and  I heard it early enough so I could get a couple pictures.

IMG_7662

IMG_7664 IMG_7664

I live just behind the hospital and that’s where the landing pad is for the medical helicopter. So I get to see the helicopter go and come. Some people wouldn’t like this BUT I do! I am thankful that we have this service at our local hospital. I am thankful that in emergency situations that need more expertise care that we have a helicopter available to take patients to Halifax.

As I’m writing this, it also reminds me of one year ago…actually one year yesterday. Friends from our church started a year that they will NEVER forget. One that they will say was only by God’s grace and mercy on that day, that they are alive to tell about it. Our friend’s daughter and her two small boys were in an awful car accident on snowy roads that sent them to hospital for months!!! The helicopter was used that day! It was used to transport the youngest boy.

Today, one year later they are HOME! There are still many challenges they face because of long term injuries but I am so thankful they are alive and well. I am so very thankful for our emergency response people, our hospital in Bridgewater and doctors and nurses, for helicopter service and excellent hospitals central in our province.

So… when I hear it, it is not an annoyance to me…I am thankful, and if I can… I enjoy watching the helicopter land and go again from my backyard!

A snowy Friday here in Bridgewater!!! How much will we get this time or will it turn to rain? ENJOY your weekend!!

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

