All things Asian…

A friend told me about this market and since we were in the city yesterday, I just had to check it out.

It is a small market on the Bedford Highway but when you walk through the door you feel like you are stepping in a similar market in Asia! Ahhhh….there’s a bit of everything from all countries. They even carry the Vietnamese coffee we bought when we were in Vietnam!

Three Chinese ladies were doing inventory and eager to help us find whatever we were looking for. I mentioned that we just got back a couple months ago from living in China and that a friend recommended we look here for some of those “hard to find” items for our favourite  Chinese dishes. One young girl wanted to know what we were doing in China and commented how bad the air quality was there, that she really didn’t like Beijing. ( She was born and grew up in Canada and speaks fluent Chinese )

It isn’t that I cook a lot of Chinese, I don’t actually but I love Jiaozi and the Chinese noodles are very easy to do for lunch. When I get my recipe book there are a few more dishes I can do and I know exactly where to get the ingredients. They have everything I need along with Chinese dishes, Chinese New Year items, and even waving cats!! lol

Today I just had a quick look around and picked up a couple things. I didn’t take too many pictures because I was too excited looking around and was really overjoyed when I saw “familiar” ingredients and supplies, all in Chinese. This is so funny to me…

I will definitely be going back to Tian Phat!

IMG_3623 IMG_3625 IMG_3627 IMG_3629 IMG_3630 IMG_3631 IMG_3634I think I will have noodles for lunch 😀

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

One thought on “All things Asian…”

Leave a Reply

