I Can’t Believe it!!

LOOK what I found!!!!

I can’t tell you how how excited I am to see these tasty treats from China in the freezer section at Super Store.

This one is Zhongzi~ Zongzi is a traditional Chinese food, made of glutinous rice stuffed with different fillings and wrapped in bamboo, reed, or other large flat leaves. They are cooked by steaming or boiling. Usually served during Dragon Boat Festival but you can get them any time.

IMG_3460

But this one…THIS is the BEST!!! Jiaozi

Jiaozi is Chinese dumplings, commonly eaten across Eastern, Central and Western Asia. Though commonly considered part of Chinese cuisine especially during Chinese New Year, jiaozi are also commonly eaten in many other Asian countries.  I LOVE THESE!!!! You don’t realize just how much you miss AUTHENTIC Chinese food until you can’t get it.

IMG_3461 IMG_3462 IMG_3463MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE CHINESE COMFORT FOOD!!!

IMG_3558

They taste pretty good. Now I KNOW I’ll be ok 😀

PS. Just maybe when my shipment arrives and I have my Chinese recipes…I’ll attempt some of our favourite Chinese dishes.

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe it!!”

  1. Hi Anna! I’m glad you found some tasty jiao zi. In case you weren’t aware, there is a very good Asian food supply store on Bedford Highway (at the bottom of Flamingo Road). They have dumplings, dumpling wrappers, spring rolls wrappers, lots of good stuff. I know it’s not the same as being here but maybe you can close your eyes and imagine:). One thing though – if you find the canned Mangosteens, do NOT buy them! They taste nothing like the fresh ones. I was meaning to go to Pete’s Fruitique to see if they had fresh but I never made it. If you do maybe you can let me know. Have a great evening!

    1. Hey Jan,
      I didn’t realize…thanks so much!!! I will definitely check it out. I bought a few Asian products at one of the grocery stores but it’s just not the same. Thanks for the heads up about the Mangosteens. After living in Brazil though and tasting all the fresh fruit I vowed to try and never buy canned anything. I’ll just eat it when it I see it fresh and even pay extra for it at a specialty market. Miss you guys. Hope you’re enjoying this new year and the changes it gives you with both Ryan & Nick in school 😀

Leave a Reply

