Top 10

I googled it! I ALWAYS do for cities we visit. Actually I am gonna start doing that for Canada and Nova Scotia too. I’ve learned so many things, appreciate so much more and want to experience all and even the little things, BUT that’s a thought for another post or two…

I googled the Top 10 things to see/do in Shenyang and I have done all but two! # 7 Liaobin Pagoda(辽滨塔) and #4  Marshal Zhang’s Mansion(张氏帅府)

I really didn’t care to try and find the Pagoda, we’ve seen lots and it seemed out of the way but #4 Marshal Zhang’s Mansion is in the heart of Shenyang and I have never heard of it! So when I asked my Chinese friends about it, Li Dan Yao said she has been there and it is very nice but Wei Quan has not been there and offered to take me. He called today and said it is Wednesday! And Wednesday is the day that he usually takes me to teach at the school but since I am not this week he will take me to one last place in Shenyang!

Marshal Zhang’s Mansion is located in central Shenyang City and is the former residence of Zhuang Zuolin (chief of the Fengtian-faction Warlords) and his son Zhang Xueliang (a statesman of great achievements). Built in 1914, the mansion was converted into a museum in 2002. I guess it used to be a library when Wei Quan was a small boy.

Covering an area of 3.6 hectares, this mansion is a large architectural complex, composed of an east courtyard, middle courtyard, west courtyard and several buildings outside. The traditional Chinese-style courtyard houses and gardens are combined with the European-style Daqing Building, Bianye Bank and Honglou buildings. Xiaoqing Building and the Building of Miss Zhaosi. The mansion has been listed as an outstanding architectural complex in modern China.

DSC05909 DSC05916 DSC05917

DSC05929 DSC05938 DSC05946 DSC05952 DSC05961 DSC05962 DSC05976 DSC05982 DSC05985 DSC05996 DSC05999 DSC06008 DSC06012

DSC06034

DSC05902

So much history here. Just google the 1920 yang chang or the last warlord and there is so much interesting history and this is the place I visited today and didn’t even realize it was in Shenyang.

DSC05960 DSC05957 DSC05956It was very interesting and I’m so glad we went!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

