Friends and Face… Black and White

What a day! Yesterday! I had to wait a day to post to calm down a little…

Oh China…things have been happening this month that will make it just a little bit easier to return to Canada. We won’t have to deal with this kind of junk. I don’t even know if I can explain it that it makes sense to anyone other than a foreigner living here.

So…We went shopping with Tina & Olivia and got their vases and other items and brought them back to our apartment to be shipped with our things. We pulled up to the East Gate to drive the car in because we have a lot of heavy things. Well we weren’t allowed to pass the East Gate. No cars allowed!!! What do you mean, no cars? Nope that is the rule no cars. We always pass the East Gate. So we go to the North Gate. No cars allowed!! What do you mean no cars? We always drive in the East Gate, drop off heavy things and go out. Nope! New Rule! No CARS ALLOWED!!!  The little security guy at the North Gate gave us a grocery cart and said we could wheel the stuff in to the apartment. That is Bu Hao!!! Sooooo…. off I go to management office!

I am not a happy girl. I called my Chinese friend, Wei Quan because I NEED translation help,  no answer. There is a cute little girl in the medical office that speaks English and she agrees to help me. I go to management and they just made the rule today that no cars are allowed at all in the compound because of children playing. I can understand that, there are many children in our compound,  and some cars go much too fast and some cars even come in and stay inside. David & I have commented to each other that they are letting more and more cars just park inside the compound. So… China being China with no grey, no common sense, no decision making skills for a situation…says NO CARS!

Oh..but as I am walking from the medical office to the management office with this girl that is helping me, we see 2 cars pass in the compound! What?! I ask her why they can pass? Oh…maybe they are a friend. What?!  I am mad. In the meantime my Chinese friend calls me, and I explain the situation and he says he will help and explain things over the phone. BUT problem is, there is no service in the management building so no phone signal and no service. And while I am doing all this David and our driver have wheeled the vases and items into the compound in grocery carts and up to our apartment. Bu Hao!

IMG_1800

David & I decided, there was no need of this, so back down we went to see the management and with the help of our new little translating girl we explained that we never bring our car inside the compound except for when we have large items, or many many bags of groceries or it is pouring cats and dogs and even if it is just raining we always walk to the North Gate to meet our driver. But when we do have large items we EXPECT to have our car pass and go to our apartment. After much taking back and forth, they agreed to get us a card from security to say they would allow this as long as we are only inside 5-10 minutes. We agreed because that is the normal for us.

BUT then again China culture… as she was explaining this to the security to get our pass, another man who lives here said he didn’t agree…so that just started the ball rolling and as we were waiting more and more cars came to the East Gate to come inside the compound. Needless to say yesterday was NOT a good day to be security personal at our compound. There were and are a lot of angry people. And a lot of people wheeling their items around in grocery carts! Common sense people!!!! SLOW DOWN and ONLY COME INSIDE IF NEEDED!

Ugh…it is so easy for management to make their little rules without thinking. None of them live here. AND it is ALWAYS black and white, no room for reason!!! Oh but if you have a friend…that’s when things change! AND, much of it comes down to not losing face!

IMG_1789 IMG_1791 IMG_1792In exactly 1 month we will be on an airplane headed home. Am I happy? HONESTLY… It’s bittersweet and I have mixed feelings. Ask me yesterday? Oh, I am so ready to be back to…normal, reason, common sense?  Wanda, do you have room in your suitcase?

But today is better and Hey, it’s Friday! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

