Grocery Shopping Chinese Style

I like to spend time with my Chinese friends, even more now that we only have a short time left here. One thing I have always wanted to do is grocery shop with them. What do they buy? Where do they buy it? Haha, even saying this makes ME smile because whenever David & I are grocery shopping, many Chinese people are always looking in our cart to see what we buy for food. Sometimes I am a little embarrassed especially if he’s stocking up on coke and cookies or coffee. Most Chinese carts are full of fresh ingredients. They tend to shop every day or every other day for fresh ingredients to cook with.

So today, Li Dan Yao took me grocery shopping! I really wish I had this on video because it must have looked quite funny. We went to an authentic Chinese market and everything is SUPER FRESH!!! Spices, herbs, veggies, fruit, meat, seafood, eggs…even silkworms(no we didn’t buy any of those). She knew exactly what she wanted. She picked it out, I paid for it, and Wei Quan carried the bags!!!! Haha, yes I paid for everything BECAUSE we were actually shopping for me today!!! More about this tomorrow…

IMG_1675 IMG_1676 IMG_1677 IMG_1678 IMG_1680 IMG_1681 IMG_1682 IMG_1683 IMG_1684 IMG_1686 IMG_1687 IMG_1688 IMG_1689 IMG_1690 IMG_1691 IMG_1692 IMG_1694 IMG_1695 IMG_1697

And before I went shopping,Tim hosted lunch at his place today for some of the gang. We enjoyed AMAZING pizza and garlic fingers. Jan. you would be so proud of your chef husband. Everyone was so impressed!!! Your apartment smelled like a pizzeria today and it tasted even better.

IMG_1668 IMG_1669 IMG_1670 IMG_1671

 

A great Saturday in Shenyang!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping Chinese Style”

Leave a Reply

