The Dog Days of Summer?

It really has been so warm here for the last two weeks. The pollution gradually gets worse on days like this. Summertime weather in Shenyang… So rain showers today were more than welcome! It didn’t put a damper on our plans. Yesterday David worked and the boys and I got a day to hang out and as you know we went to a  Gǒurou restaurant to eat…did you guess what Gǒurou is ?

Well today we went to the dog market. Not for eating, but for buying pets and accessories. Besides, dogs that are eaten are special dogs raised for that purpose, just like pigs, cattle, and chickens. Chinese people love their pet dogs as much or more than we do and would NEVER eat their pets!

The dog market is a cool place, well mostly. I love playing with the puppies and China has the cutest outfits for dogs. Abby, my yorkiepoo is getting quite a selection. Today, David said no more outfits! I get a little sad at this market because there are just so many puppies for sale that need a loving home. See how cute!

DSC03527 DSC03530 DSC03533 DSC03538 DSC03540 DSC03546 DSC03550 DSC03558 DSC03557 DSC03570

So many choices from little designer dogs to the large loving family dogs. How do you choose with so many dogs for sale?

Today, I really could have brought home a chocolate brown teddy puppy. They are my favourite and when I see them I always comment that I would love to take one back with me for a companion for Abby. Today this cute little one and I bonded. I mean really bonded. I didn’t want to let her go. She snuggled in and was giving kisses just like Abby didi when I picked her out. It was so hard to leave…I would have called her Latte. What a doll!

 

I wish my oldest son and his fiancé could have visited China they would love this place. Although I think Kristina would be the same as me. She has a HUGE heart for dogs and she would want to take a few home. We did do a little shopping for them, and picked up collars for their dogs.

This is the boys’ last day in Shenyang. I can’t believe how quickly their time has gone here.

We went back to their favourite restaurant to enjoy their favourites foods. Jiaozi, the fried ones, and Gou Bao Rou. Then we went to Government Square and Forum 66 Mall and enjoyed a coffee at Pacific coffee ( switched it up a bit)

IMG_1285 IMG_1287

DSC03590 DSC03580 IMG_1289 DSC03596 DSC03595 IMG_1301

There is a city not far from Shenyang between Shenyang and Fushun that is just being built. It is called Shen Fu. David and I discovered it last summer and the same thing happened when James and Jon went up the Lily Tower. They saw this huge circle ring and the distance and asked about it. Jon REALLY wanted to see it! So..we decided to show them the city that is being built in the middle of nowhere. There is still no one living there but lots of construction happening still. And the Pagoda along the ring has become a breeding area for the beautiful black swans. Many were nesting and it was fun to watch them. They are so interesting moving straw around and interacting with each other.

DSC03605 DSC03606 DSC03611 DSC03616 DSC03630 DSC03643 DSC03651 DSC03662

Now we are organizing and packing. James wanted salad and mashed potato for supper tonight (too much dog meat and other assorted meat yesterday) and we’ll relax and try to get to bed early. The last few days they spend in China will be in Beijing!

IMG_1305

Oh…and one last garbage run and bike ride in the park tonight ( they’re gonna get caught in a downpour…)

 

10601265_10203600221660613_544465060_n

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

