Vase shopping this week

How do you say vase?

When you say vase, does it rhyme with oz or base? Or…haze?

In Australia, for what it’s worth, “vase” rhymes with “jars” ( that’s different)

Haha, oh my I didn’t realize this  “decorative container, typically made of glass, porcelain or china ( but always referred to as china) and used as an ornament or for displaying cut flowers” had so many pronunciations! 

Anyway…however it’s pronounced, this week we have been looking for a pair of vases to ship home to Canada.

David likes these…and I do too

BUT… I REALLY like these

I LOVE the blue and white. Decisions? What to do?

The history of Chinese ceramics is long and remarkable, and they are regarded as one of the most beautiful art forms in the world.I want to make sure it’s a piece that I will love 10 years from now. I love all my photos of our travels, they are wonderful keepsakes, but there are some “particular things” that we ( that a lot of expats) like to buy to take back from China. A Chinese vase is one of these particular things.

So…after three trips to these particular shops and a visit to a couple others, getting our Chinese friend’s opinion, and thoughts on price and style and size. And then David & I discussing all our options, getting Laura to send pictures of the space in our home we were thinking of placing these…we decided! And we got them today!

It was a fun experience just negotiating, fitting them in our trunk, getting them safely home and up to our 16th floor apartment.

DSC01940 DSC01943 DSC01945 DSC01946 DSC01947

It was David’s choice, BUT I WILL have some traditional blue and white smaller pieces of China to take home too! For now, the big vases are in our apartment here, not in any particular place, and not together, but just waiting until they can be shipped to their new home in Canada.

DSC01949

Oh, and by the way…I say vase as in base 😀

 

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

One thought on “Vase shopping this week”

  1. Beautiful vases. I like the blue ones too. Hope they will not get broken on their way to Bridgewater.

Leave a Reply

