They HAVE the technology!!

San Hao street is home to the Chinese techy’s! Shop after shop on this famous electronic street have every gadget imaginable and little Chinese guys that have experience with them all. You want information, you want to buy something, you want something fixed… they are the guys to see.

As some of you know I dropped my iPhone 4s in the toilet when we were home for the wedding a couple weeks ago.I NEVER put my phone in my back pocket except for this one time and what do I do…go and drop it in the toilet! I quickly retrieved it but not before it got a soaking. I put it in rice, like the forums say and left if for it’s “ricing period” hoping it would work. When the time was up to give it a try, I charged it or tried to, I could hear it doing something, it would take pictures, I could hear siri talking BUT the screen was black and nothing would work to be able to see.

So…What to do? A girl’s gotta have a phone. Especially in China when I use it for translating all the time.

David & I looked at Kijiji at the second hand phones on line. Many were locked with a plan and I needed a phone unlocked to use my China SIM card. There were a few phones that looked promising but any time we emailed inquiring we didn’t get a response and time was running out. I needed an unlocked phone before heading back to China.

So David who royally spoils me ALL the time asked me what I wanted to do? I said honestly… If I’m gonna have to purchase a new phone I would like to get the most up to date model…an iPhone 5s. The next day it was off to Halifax to the Apple store and in less than 10 minutes I had my new phone. We came home and David cut the SIM card smaller to fit ( they have tools for this in China) and it worked!

So, now back in China we went to San Hao street! What are the chances a little Chinese techy could fix my old phone? Just for fun, we thought we’d give it a try. We told our driver what we wanted and he knew just the place. A shop with a techy that took a look at it and said that it could be the mother board. It would cost a lot to replace and fix if it was that but if we wanted for 50rmb he could take it apart and clean it, clean the contacts and see what it was.  So we said yes, 50rmb is $8.

He took it apart, lots of small pieces and used a solvent and brushes and cleaned it. He then had a way of testing it and said the motherboard was good. He also tried a new front crystal since the biggest issue we could see was the screen remained black. It worked everything lit up, that was the problem! He put it together with a new crystal, and a new back too because it had a small crack and we thought we might as well get that done. We tried the phone with David’s SIM card because his phone is a 4s and it still had some glitches…it wasn’t recognizing the SIM card and the camera was ruined. Hmm? So David said put a new camera in and somehow the guy had a way of fixing it so that the SIM card was recognized, BUT after he put it back together the wifi didn’t work. By this time it was 5:20 and San Hao closes for the day at 5pm and the lights were going off in the store automatically…we had to go. David told him we wouldn’t get back until the following week because he had to work and were away for the long weekend. But the guy said bring it in and he could fix the wifi. He paid the guy for parts and labour that far ( 350 rmb includes the 50 to look at it)

Yesterday we went back. This time our little guy took it to a girl who took it all apart and fixed the wifi in about 20 minutes. They are so great when it comes to this technology stuff.

So all in all about 3 hours, while we waited 550 rmb later for parts and labour, it works and it’s as good as new! Not bad for $96

Only in China! But I’m not giving up my 5s, I love it! Guess we’ll just have an extra 🙂 And David thinks I need to study in iPhone repair so I can open a shop. Haha funny guy!

DSC00288 DSC00289 DSC00290 DSC00295 DSC00296 DSC00298

 

PS~ Oh and just as a sideline and something so VERY funny! As you know there is a lot of fake things in China. Well at the shop in their case they had a variety of iPhones…4s, 5, 5s.  BUT upon closer inspection they were fakes! YEP, they really and truly looked like it but when we compared the real thing to the fake you could tell the difference. And…these iPhones, the fake ones, were Android phones! For about $100 you can own a real “fake” iPhone 5s. So funny!!! Wish I had taken a picture…

 

 

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

