Mr. Postman

Please send my letters to…CANADA!!

It’s that time of year and I think I am a little late. It takes approximately 1 month to send letters to Canada or USA and I wanted to send just a few Christmas cards from China. The rest I will hand deliver when we are home in December.

On Monday it was a SNOW day! I sat by my window, watching the snow, drinking homemade apple cider, listening to Christmas music and addressing my Christmas cards. Yesterday on the way to work, I asked David to mail them for me. We don’t have a post office close to our home that I can walk to so I had to wait until a convenient time and David is working a lot this week and so we are not out and about the city.

It is quite an interesting process. Each card is weighed one by one and then the correct amount of postage is given along with a bottle of paste. One by one the stamps must be glued on the envelope. After that they are ready to be put in the mail box, one by one. Seems a little old fashioned but kinda fun…when you have time. And Wang, our driver is always such a huge help.

It’s ALWAYS an interesting experience to do some of these common tasks that are so routine and easy in Canada.

Oh…The BEST part is GETTING mail in China! This morning when I woke up there was a letter on the table for me. David must have checked our mailbox last night. A card from my sweet niece. When I opened it, it immediately put a HUGE smile on my face for the rest of the day. A card she made with owls! I love it!! It is so wonderful to get a handwritten letter in a card made with “you” in mind! I am so blessed!

Thank you VERY much Erika!!! And I am thinking of you… 😀

Today I am feeling so sleepy! Gonna have a nap and then I REALLY need to figure out my Christmas gift list,, do up an itinerary for our trip to Korea next week and do just a bit more research on a few countries so we can book a winter vacation this weekend!

Hope you’re having a great week! Where is the time going…It’s Thursday all ready?!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

