Going Away…

For the RECORD… I DO NOT LIKE GOING AWAY PARTIES!!! FOR ME or ANY ONE ELSE!!!

I realize that it is important to have them…to celebrate friendship, times spent together, memories…a chance for people to say farewell and give their best wishes for all that’s new and exciting ahead…

This going away party was for Tricia & Alan.

Their assignment in China finishes this month in less than 2 weeks…and while I know it’s important to go to such parties this one is hard.  I was so thankful Robin & Pete volunteered to host it. It is something David & I would have liked to do but maybe a bit too hard ( & emotional) for us! I just keep putting my brain on OFF when I think about them leaving.

I can’t tell you how wonderful it has been to have FAMILY in China! You see, China is REALLY a long way away from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada. And it’s not that we see them all the time, but they are here, we were here together, and it’s just easier doing an expat with family close when you are far away from immediate family! Maybe that’s why I have always said China is easier than Brazil. No, No there are many issues with Brazil, and I absolutely LOVE China, but I am sure it does factor in there somewhere.

It’s hard to express my thoughts about this really, if I say too much I will make Tricia & Alan feel worse because I know they have their own emotions to deal with. They have been here the whole time for expat ( while we went to Brazil) and have met and made so many wonderful friends, fellow expats as well as Chinese people. You become close and It’s hard to say goodbye not knowing if you will see these people again. And…China is such a wonderful, interesting country! Ok enough said, I am sure you get my feeling on this.

Tonight was Tricia & Alan’s “Leaving China Party” and here are just a few pics…

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

