Pearls

China is known for many things…

A few of my FAVORITES are: tea, silk, jade and pearls. If you visit or live in China then it is a MUST to purchase a set of pearls. When we lived here in 2011/12, David bought me an absolutely beautiful set of pearls and matching pearl earrings on a trip to Dalian city . I wear them a lot, they are one of my favorite pieces of jewelry. I soon realized I probably should have gotten a matching bracelet.

There is a market in Shenyang that has real pearls at a good price. It’s not a pearl market but an exhibition market of sorts that can at times have vendors from all over China selling things. It’s hard to know when the main hall is open with exhibits, it’s kind of hit or miss for us, so we like to go often.

We were at Zhan Lan Guan one day last week and there was a pearl lady in the exhibit hall. It was the perfect opportunity to get a bracelet. First, we found pearls that matched my set in color and size, made sure they were real  and then asked the vendor if she could create a bracelet, double knotted with a clasp similar to my necklace. Pretty easy. David and I were amazed as she made the bracelet in front of us in minutes! She really knows her craft and did a fabulous job.

I love it! And I am so pleased to have a bracelet to complete my set.

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

