Sprucing Things Up!

With our shipment here and everything put away and some of my own things around to make this apartment home, David & I went looking for a little green…and vases…and fish …and fish bowls!

Hmm…maybe we’ll get some fish…sometime but we are definitely gonna get some green plants!

LOVED this! But the aquarium although very large was too small for this guy
LOVED this! But the aquarium although very large was too small for this guy

I could spend a fortune on aquariums and fish…and turtles! Ok… better look for plants!!

Well we got a couple plants, negotiated a price that included delivery to our apartment the next day at 8 o’clock in the morning. Gave the delivery guy our card and called it a successful trip to the market…although no fish…this time!

So in the morning I get a call from our driver that the delivery guy is at Eastern Venice and can’t find our building, can I go downstairs? Sure no problem! I went to the elevator and it wasn’t working!! What? We have two elevators, the first one stopped working the day we moved in and now the second one wasn’t working. So…down I go 16 floors of stairs thinking to myself this elevator BETTER work so I can get my plants to my apartment! I found the little Chinese delivery guy and with charades and limited Chinese explained the elevator wasn’t working. He went to get the second plant and in the meantime I called my Chinese friend to see if he could translate and find out what was going on. The complex management were sending an elevator technician but to make a VERY long story short and so I don’t get carried away with recounting my frustrations again…the delivery guy didn’t wait for the elevator, put both plants in the foyer and booted it outta there! Bu Hao!!! I paid VERY good money to have them delivered to my apartment! Well I FINALLY got them up to my apartment with the help of the elevator technician and one of the sweet gals from the management office! What a morning! Why do I ALWAYS get the experiences to deal with, and NOT David!

So… we have a couple beautiful green plants to spruce up our place!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

