Sān hǎo jiē

If there is a place in Shenyang that David likes ( like I like Wulihe Park) it would have to be Sān hǎo jiē. Well, next to the tool market that is…

Sān hǎo jiē is supposedly one of the largest computer and electronic markets in northeastern China. The shops here specialize in computers and software, but pretty much any electronic item is sold here. In the past, this was the place to go for cheap (and illegal) DVDs and software but the police have been cracking down somewhat on the pirated movie trade throughout China and so it is still here but you just have to look a little harder. During the day the street is CROWDED!! There is store after store, high rises with many levels with just about everything imaginable.It’s a busy spot, but at 5:30, everything closes!

So…today David went to Sān hǎo with the hope of getting a wireless keyboard for our TV and a shredder. He’s had enough of cutting with scissors personal important documents.

First thing…a wireless keyboard

Then a shredder…Success! David was able to get both things he was looking for and I found something I need to investigate… I’ve never heard of a power bank that you can re-charge your devices. I think I might “need” one of these! Another day…

We were “loved, spoiled”  with a delicious homemade dinner. David’s sister Tricia knows how much I have been wanting GOOD, HOMEMADE style lasagna since we arrived. There is a restaurant in Shenyang that serves this but the two times I have gone, they’ve run out. I guess everyone likes it!! So, Tricia made lasagna and invited us for dinner! Ohhhhhh, it was soooooo good!! It’s really interesting just HOW much you appreciate things like certain foods when you are living in foreign countries.

And FINALLY!!!!! Back in my happy place. 90 minutes for a 10k walk today in my most favorite place in Shenyang, not too shabby for the first time!! The only foreigner in the park so I got many stares but actually saw a security guard and drink vendor from when we were here before… and they recognized me!! Ah…lovin’ those happy endorphins. It was such a great walk but I am gonna have to take it slower next time and take my camera because there are so many changes!!! LOTS of wonderful new things and everything is green and beautiful and new. It’s been a good day & it’s the start of the weekend!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

