Dress Shopping in the Underground

I love to shop! It’s true! And China more so than Brazil is the place to do it. Shoes, handbags, jewelry, sunglasses, dresses…you name it… It is a Shopper’s Paradise for a girlie girl!

David & I went to the Taiyuan Jie underground mall. We LOVE this place. We wanted to visit our watch guy (I need one of my watches fixed) and surprise surprise he remembered us. ( Maybe we bought too many watches?) He was eager to help and the part for my watch will be in next week.

As you go to his little shop in the underground you pass by many dress and shoe shops and I’m sure my eyes just get wider and wider with all the choices and styles available. I stopped in a familiar traditional Chinese dress shop just to see what was there and right away the owner came out with a beautiful white dress with butterflies and a bit of turquoise. Oh it was beautiful…I just had to see if it would fit. I wasn’t expecting it to because Chinese women are built so differently and I am not a petite person. Well it fit PERFECTLY!!! I REALLY wasn’t planning on dress shopping today but… And when I started to bargain with her back and forth, back and forth and she came down half of what she started at…I knew we had a deal!!! Of course, she WOULD NOT let me wear my original dress out of the shop, I HAD to wear hers. And so, if that was the case I was gonna get her picture with me. What fun!

We walked a little further into the underground and another dress just popped out at me! haha 🙂  And once again, try it on, make a deal and a sale AND of course wear the new dress out of the shop!! Haha…this could really go on all day! No…I promised David I really have to be good.

Back at the apartment I tried my new dresses on. They are very different but so beautiful!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

