Father’s Day BUT NOT Dia dos Pais

It is Father’s Day in Canada BUT not in Brazil. Dia dos Pais is celebrated in August not in June. Because we will be in China in August, we are celebrating Father’s Day June 16th.

FIRST, we want to wish our Dads a VERY Special Day!!! We love you so much and are thankful for all the help, encouragement and support you give us!

David & his Dad
David & his Dad
Me & my Daddy
Me & my Daddy

So…What did David want to do for Father’s Day?

Sleep in and RELAX! But then he changed his mind…

…and decided he wanted to CLIMB ANOTHER MOUNTAIN! Yep, and this time I went too!

The mountain to climb today…Morro do Couto. It is part of the mountain range, the Serra da Mantiqueira. The Morro do Couto is one of the LARGEST in Brazil and supposedly the 2nd highest peak in Rio de Janeiro state next to Pico das Agulhas Negras. Pico das Agulhas Negras is very awesome and majestic and if we were here longer that would be on David’s list to climb.

It is actually  an easier hike than the last one David went on and so he wanted me to join him. I was a little hesitant, only because I am still dealing with the dizzy issues off and on.  I am pretty much convinced that it is an altitude sickness (there is such a thing). Just looking at when it it occurs and how long it lasts and how my body reacts.  Anyway, it was something I wanted to be sure I could do without having any issues. It’s so funny because I was also nervous about wildlife in the mountains ( snakes in particular) I have gone a year without seeing one in the wild in Itatiaia National park ( where there are supposed to be lots) and didn;t want it to happen on one of my last weekends. But…I decided to go ( just didn’t get a whole lot of sleep last night)

Up early (5am), pack a lunch, dress warm cause it’s Fall and we are going in the mountains and off we went. We met Roberto and his girls and a friend of Roberto’s at the Graal and headed for the mountains. First stop, a little place just before the park entrance for a cup of coffee and a piece of cheese. We warmed our hands over the wood cook stove and then took the trail to the park entrance where we had  to register before going any further.

One of my first questions to David’s friend and work colleague, Roberto, who is a certified guide and loves to mountain and rock climb was…in all the climbs you do, do you ever see any snakes? He laughed and said that YES, in Itatiaia, lower in the mountains by the waterfalls( where we usually go) there are snakes, but not up here because it is too high elevation. Phew! I relaxed right away and was ready to enjoy myself.

The hike and climb wasn’t too bad, the actual climb from the base of the peak to the peak was the worst with some tricky places but I never felt scared or unsafe. I knew that Roberto wouldn’t put his girls in danger so I felt better. There were a few places I was a little short of breath but that’s all. It was so worth the hike…the view is AMAZING and pictures can not capture what you see. I know now why David wanted me to see this for myself. Morro do Couto is actually higher than Prateleiras the mountain he climbed but from our mountain today, there were wonderful views of Prateleiras as well as  the rock known as Tartaruga (Turtle rock), the one I would like to see more than anything.

Here are some pictures from our mountain climb

Carpe Diem~ Seize the day!
Carpe Diem~ Seize the day!
Gabi and I ready to hike the trail
Gabi and I ready to hike the trail
Roberto with his girls Gabriela & Emanuela
Roberto with his girls Gabriela & Emanuela

Filling up the water bottles
Filling up the water bottles
Morro do Couto
Morro do Couto
This WAY!
This WAY!
Just the start of what is to come
Just the start of what is to come

At the base of Couto
At the base of Couto
YES! I am gonna climb to that peak
YES! I am gonna climb to that peak

Oh the heights...
Oh the heights…

Here's one of the tricky places
Here’s one of the tricky places
VICTORY! I made it!
VICTORY! I made it!- Just a little bit foggy this high

Sweetie we did it!
Sweetie we did it!

Group Shot!
Group Shot!
HAPPY Father's Day 2013~ On top of Morro do Couto, RJ, Brazil
HAPPY Father’s Day 2013~ On top of Morro do Couto, RJ, Brazil

It was a wonderful way to spend Father’s Day with Roberto and his girls ( Gabriela and Emanuela) and his friend Ruaui (sp) ,who is our son Andrew’s age.  We miss our kids so much on holidays so it was nice to be with a family.

To end our day and Father’s Day celebration, we had dinner at a new restaurant in Penedo, one that I knew David would love because his favorite cut of Brazilian beef is Picanha. Casa de Picanha would have to be good! It was delicious!!!

Picanha :)
Picanha 🙂

Happy Father’s Day!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

