Amethyst…A stone found in Nova Scotia and Brazil

Who knew? How cool is that?

Amethyst is a violet variety of quartz often used in jewelery. It is one of several forms of quartz. Amethyst is the traditional birthstone of February and I think it is beautiful. I also knew that amethyst was found in many places in Nova Scotia but when we came to Brazil I was VERY surprised to see it here!

Amethyst is produced in abundance from the state of  Minas Gerais which is very close to us. It occurs in large geodes within volcanic rocks. Many of the hollow agates of southwestern Brazil contain a crop of amethyst crystals in the interior. Up until the 18th century, amethyst was included in the most valuable gemstones list (along with diamond, sapphire, ruby and emerald)  However, since the discovery of extensive deposits in locations in Brazil, it has lost most of its value. Still it is a beautiful stone and is used in many works of art here in Brazil. The way I think it is used most effectively is in the beautiful bases for the stone birds and statues and in the birds you see at markets.

Our parrots

When we were in Miami for our cruise we were in a shop that had a HUGE amethyst rock. I am not sure where they got it because the store had items from all over the world.

It’s beautiful!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “Amethyst…A stone found in Nova Scotia and Brazil”

  1. I am on the hunt for these birds. We saw them in Brazil, Argentina and Peru but couldn’t tranpsort them home. I refuse to pay full price. I have purchased four on ebay, Large 11+ inch gemstone birds on amethyst or other gemstone rock bases. All for under $100! Whoopeee! I need to locate one more for my etagere and am having a heck of a time finding one. but boy, do they look gorgeous. Searching for one more I found your blog and now I am following! You have a fascinating life/blog~

Leave a Reply

