SUNDAY in the Park

This morning David and I were up and decided to check out the Sunday in the Park. Well sort of. We went for a walk by the park and at the same time we could see what “Sunday in the Park” is all about.

The street along the water and in front of the Parque das Aguas is blocked off every Sunday from 9am until noon and families in Resende are encouraged to come enjoy the park. They can walk, roller blade, play volleyball, hula hoop…the list goes on. Just come and enjoy some activity together. It is a great concept and there were quite a few people there in the road and in the park as we walked by.

To be honest, I have been struggling with my exercise program here in Resende. I haven’t been walking/running like I should. I just haven’t found ” THE PLACE” I love that motivates me to get up and “JUST DO IT!” I detest the Parque das Aguas for regular running and walking. I really feel like a mouse in a maze…it’s awful. Round and round and round with everyone else doing the same is not my idea of fun so I stopped doing it. The path by the river is OK…I have to really watch my step because of uneven pavement and I don’t feel as comfortable there early mornings by myself. And trust me if you want to go, early mornings are a MUST before it gets too hot!! I know, I know you are probably saying …excuses, excuses…that’s what David says to me…he and some of his friends love to go running here…some of my friends going walking in the park and along the river…BUT I HATE the area for my fast workout walking! I know those are harsh words, but it is true.  I take pictures and it’s beautiful along the river. See, I’ll show you. But I can not get inspired at all to make this my circuit where I can just relax, listen to my ipad tunes and REALLY strut my stuff!!

TRUTHFULLY…part of my reason for walking this morning was to “try again”. I need to, I want to… Maybe with David there talking me through it…but once again, it’s just not “my place” Ughh…so…I’m gonna have to find it!! Because I LOVE walking, and I miss that time everyday. Wish me luck…I think I am looking at a battle of the wills for the next few weeks!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

