So many Speed bumps!

It’s a new year and as I sit at my computer I sometimes think…what will I write about? I like to do a post everyday. You see it’s kind of my job, well that’s what I tell David. It makes me feel productive, like I am contributing to this whole expat way of life instead of just enjoying a leisurely vacation exploring exotic and interesting countries! So…the way I see it, blogging is my job. That being said what does one talk about everyday? What will people find interesting? What will I find interesting as I look back 5 years from now? When I read these posts will I say “Oh yeah, I remember that? or  Why on earth did I write about that?”

Today’s post is about Speed bumps in Brazil. So much could be said on this topic ( we have had our share of speed bumps the last couple years) but the speed bumps I am talking about are the gigantic ones everywhere on the roads and highways here in Brazil. The ones called Lombadas.

Speed bumps are normally there to get you to slow down, usually in a parking lot, or by shopping centers, at least that’s what the speed bumps in Canada are for. But in Brazil, speed bumps are on EVERY city street. They are found about every 200-300 metres on major roads, and about every 20m or so on residential streets. And these are not your regular sized speed bumps. These speed bumps are HUGE and are to get the crazy fast Brazilian drivers to slow down, but it really only works for those few seconds while they are passing over the speed bump then it’s back to the crazy driving.

Sometimes coming back after a home trip to Canada we forget about these bumps or believe it or not sometimes they aren’t even clearly marked ( not in Brazil, something not clear…haha) and…you hit one! Well, you feel it!!! And you hope and pray that you haven’t left an important part of your car at the lombada!! Here are a few pics…they don’t look so bad but trust me, if you hit one, you know it!!

So I had to add a couple more pics for David… he likes this sign better Quebra Molas– which literally means spring breaker!!!

 

Watch out for those bumps…Happy Monday!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

One thought on “So many Speed bumps!”

Leave a Reply

