Christmas Time in Brazil!

Christmas in BrazilIt has been really different spending the Christmas Season, most of the month of December in Brazil. Let’s just say I am EXTREMELY thankful to be going HOME for Christmas! ( You are probably getting tired of hearing me say that BUT it’s what I am feeling) I almost think it was easier in China. It actually felt like Christmas and it was so much easier to get the things I am used to having at Christmas that I didn’t realize but that has become so much a part of our Christmas Tradition.

In Brazil, there are no Christmas tree lots with fresh Christmas trees, or light snow falls, or Christmas parades or Tim Horton’s & Starbucks candy cane drinks, or Christmas concerts at Church or Christmas Dinners with Turkey…

I have appreciated seeing how this country celebrates, what they do, what they don’t do.We have enjoyed seeing  the Christmas Decor and lights here, some of it very elaborate because we are not dealing with snow, cold and frost. There is however the thunder and lightning shows MOST afternoons. Typical Brazilian summer! Here are just a few pics from the last day or so.

The only snow we’ll see in Brazil…

So hard to believe it is December and Christmas time when it looks like this…

017

And when we can do this…

1 week from TODAY we will be HOME…Can’t wait! Oh and I am so proud of myself! I have ALL my clothes that I am taking home laid out on the spare bed and ready to pack. That is early for me! BUT it is easy to do because here in Brazil I am wearing summer clothes and I am taking winter clothes home!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

