12/12/12

Happy 12.12.12!

These kinda days don’t come along very often! Actually TODAY will be the LAST time you will see a repeating date like that! Special I think…and especially if you are celebrating a Birthday on a day like today and I do know someone…Happy Birthday Mark Baker- Hope you do something REALLY special for your Birthday for this special year!

We should probably celebrate or something BUT since David is working this evening and there are appointments and things to do, we are not doing anything significant. Oh well…

Today was 35 degrees, a little cloudy and I have my cinnamon and apple mixture simmering on the stove so the apartment smells WONDERFUL , listening to my favorite Christmas music. And… I am working on “my list” and getting some Christmas cards ready for when we get back to Canada. I am a little slow…I should have mailed them weeks ago to arrive before Christmas. But then I guess the post office in Resende wouldn’t even mail Christmas cards to Canada anyway ( a friend tried) What’s up with that?

Well I will tell you how in the dark ages we are here. I wanted to print off our Christmas photo to stick in some cards. It shouldn’t be too difficult since there are a few photo printing stores downtown. I asked David if he could please do this today after his Portuguese class and get Raphael to help if needed. Raphael went with him to one store. David said the equipment was pretty bad that he even had to go to a second store because the printer stopped working after 11 copies. And come to find out it cost 25.50 for 30 photos! Yikes!! We should have waited until we got home!! But I am just trying to save some time knowing that we arrive only a couple days before Christmas. Looks like I will still have to get our letter done when we are home. $2.00 a page is not something I am willing to pay!

As I finish this post, the thunder is rolling in over the mountains and lightning bolts are lighting up the sky. Our end of the day summer storm is coming! A  common occurrence at the end of the day here. I think I am just gonna get cozy, sip some apple cider and put on a Christmas movie…or two!

Hope you had a  GREAT day and Happy Twelve-Twelve-Twelve EVERYONE!!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

