Three Must Have Staple Items This Time Of Year

This time of year there are three things that I can’t just live without!! They are must have staple items in our home at Christmas time. I haven’t seen these items in Brazil so I have to be creative!

What are these three items you ask?

Apple Cider, Egg Nog and Hot Chocolate of course.

You see my favorite thing to do in the evening is to snuggle up nice and cozy with a mug of something and enjoy the Christmas lights, a good movie on TV or Christmas music playing and just enjoy this special time of year. These are things I am wanting more than ever here in Brazil, just a taste of home and the holidays…well at least until we get home a few days before Christmas. So off I went looking!

Apple Cider

I picked up some Apple nectar and orange and spices and simmered it awhile on the stove. It smelled so good and the result…delicious apple cider!

Egg Nog

This one was a bit trickier. I had to find a recipe for the homemade kind. No cartons of egg nog in the stores here. Then I had to tweak it a bit to the right taste with just the right amount of sugar and spices. It turned out not too bad. Maybe a bit lighter than normal but if I used cream instead of whole milk it would taste richer. Although the light version is probably better with less calories. At least I can have egg nog in Brazil.

20121125-173619.jpg

Hot Chocolate

This should be the easiest one. But again no hot chocolate mixes that look familiar. I finally decided on one that looked good, a combination of milk and white chocolate. I boiled water stirred a few tablespoons of the mix in and added whole milk. Very good!

Next time I may even add a little Tim Horton’s coffee to make a mocha coffee.

It’s the little things that really matter. So now most evenings I will be simmering a pot of water, orange peel, cinnamon and spices on the stove to make my apartment smell nice and sippin’ on a mug of hot apple cider. Tis’ the season!

20121125-175716.jpg

Hope you take the time from this busy season to enjoy the little things…

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “Three Must Have Staple Items This Time Of Year”

Leave a Reply

