Dancing With The Stars…in Argentina! The Argentine Tango

I love that show Dancing with the Stars. Or should I say I used to like watching it. I haven’t watched it for a couple years since we have been living in foreign countries. It actually reminds me of my Auntie Bea, I miss her so much ( she passed away a couple years ago) but she used to love to watch Julianne Hough dance, she was her favorite,and I started watching Dancing With The Stars because of my Auntie Bea.

I always remember the judges commenting about the Argentine Tango! Here I am visiting the country, actually the city where the Tango was born! How cool is that?

After researching the Tango and visiting the different venues where Tango had it’s roots, I realized that the true authentic Argentine Tango is not the same as we see on Dancing With The Stars. The kind we see on TV is more Ballroom Tangos. They started out from the same roots, but Argentine tango is different from the ballroom tangos in its posture, embrace, improvisation, movement, balance, steps, and music.

On the streets of Buenos Aires, Carlos Gardel’s image is everywhere… the suave singer who introduced tango, a symbol of Argentina’s “Golden Age,” to the world! His life and death are the stuff of legends. Gardel grew up singing in local bars, restaurants and markets in Abasto, once a neighborhood of Italian immigrants. The house where Gardel lived with his mother is now a museum filled with photos and artifacts. In Argentina, the tango had begun as music and dance for men looking for work during the Great Depression. But Gardel helped popularize the style as it moved from the underground dance salons to the upper classes.

David and I with Carlos Gardel 🙂

The Tango is still as popular today on the streets in Buenos Aries as it was back then. There are also many Tango Shows featuring lessons, dinner and a show. Time didn’t permit us to see one of these but we loved watching the various performances on the street! And didn’t feel too bad about missing a show because after all Tango was born on the street.

Tango on the streets of Buenos Aries

Here are a couple video clips…

Error
This video doesn’t exist
Error
This video doesn’t exist

A MUST was lunch at the very famous Cafe Tortoni where tango shows and dinners are WORLD FAMOUS! There is ALWAYS long lines waiting for a chance to have coffee or lunch or dinner and a show at this famous place. Some tourists will even stop by and stand in line just to walk inside and look at all the antiques and collectables from over the years. Cafe Tortoni was founded in 1858 and is the oldest coffee shop in the whole country. With a very rich history, it is visited by intellectuals, politicians, famous kings and queens and artists.

Cafe Tortoni~ Oldest coffee shop in Argentina!
Famous venue for Dinner and Tango Shows

Many famous people have coffee at Cafe Tortoni including His Majesty, King of Spain
Don Juan Carlos de Borbón
David & I are now among the famous people who have eaten here 🙂

The World Tango Museum and National Tango Academy, is located above Cafe Tortoni and although it was closed when we were there we managed to peak inside .

World Tango Museum & Academy
Carlos Gardel

Tango is still very much alive in Buenos Aries!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

4 thoughts on “Dancing With The Stars…in Argentina! The Argentine Tango”

  1. Anna

    My favorite scene from one of my most favorite movies, Moulin Rouge, is about the Argentinian tango. Whether it’s authentic or not, I have no idea, but the characters in the movie refer to the dance as being born in the brothels of Argentina.

    Below is a clip of that scene which starts after the Argentinian reference. Simply amazing motion, music and editing. Turn out your lights… turn your sound up high… choose the highest quality setting on Youtube (sadly, in this case 480p)… make full screen… and enjoy an amazing piece of cinema.

    btw… I saw your mom and dad this past Sunday. I was sharing a missionary moment during Open Bible’s mission’s month. They’re looking good. I think they’re proud of you.

    1. WOW!! WOW! Ok Guess what movie I am watching tonight!! Can you believe I have never watched Moulin Rouge. Thanks so much for the clip Mark. Thanks for the note about Mom & Dad. I miss them and can’t wait til we’re home at Christmas 🙂

      1. You will enjoy this amazing movie. Won the Oscar for Art Direction and for Costume Design. Nominated for Best Picture… Actress… Editing (robbed of this one imo)… Cinematography… Makeup… and Sound.

        The first half of the movie is non-stop so make your popcorn before pressing play. And turn the sound up loud. You’ll love all the music references intertwined with the dialogue.

        I only own about 10 actual movies on DVD, and this is one of them. Definitely in my top 5 for fav movies. I’m jealous… I wish I were watching it for the very first time.

        Let me know what you think.

      2. Sounds great! I just got it put on my computer. Top 5 eh? Now I am really looking forward to watching it tonight for sure! I also got the musical Evita to watch in the next day or so. Argentina inspired 🙂

Leave a Reply

