Doce de Leite

Just a little sweetness for your Wednesday. ..

Doce de Leite is a sweet prepared by slowly heating sweetened milk to create a product that tastes like caramel sugar. Literally translated, it means ” candy of milk”. Everywhere and I mean everywhere you see Doce de Leite. It comes in jars and bottles and hard candy and blocks and even little “sausage link” looking tubes. Brazilians really have a taste for sweets!

In Canada, we can buy bottles of Dulce de Leche at the Superstore. I have bought this before and used it in desserts and dips when the recipe calls for caramel. It is especially good as a dip for apples. I was really surprised to see the same thing here in Brazil only in various forms, and here it is called in Portuguese, Doce de Leite.

I guess the flavor is popular all over the world because, Haagen Dazs has Doce de Leite flavor ice cream and Starbucks offers  Doce de Leite coffees.

David remembers as a kid heating a jar of sweetened condensed milk to make a yummy treat…little did he know he was making a version of this Brazilian favorite!

“sausage links” of Doce de Leite for a quick shot of sweet!
various kinds/flavors of doce de leite
Doce de Leite fudge

And then there is honey! But maybe that will be another post!

It’s all so delicious!

Hope you’re having a great week. I am a little out of sorts this week, not sure why, being an expat you go through this sort of thing periodically and I guess I am just having one of those weeks. I just wish our apartment was a little bigger cause that is the only place I want to be right now. I know, I know, better days ahead…

Tchau for now!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

