When The Unexpected Happens…

…all you can do is wait…

My Dad broke his leg on Saturday, just two hours after we arrived in Bridgewater for our 10 day Home Trip!  He had a bit of an accident while using a rotor tiller and fell. Thankfully a good friend was right there or it could have been a much worse situation. He was in Bridgewater hospital until Monday afternoon ( I live just a 5 minute walk from the hospital) until they moved him to Halifax where he awaits surgery for a broken femur! We were in Halifax until late last night. They told us in the afternoon that he was 1st on the list for surgery Tuesday but then last night before we went home the nurse said it could be up to two weeks before they operate. My Dad did not want my Mom to go home but her health is not 100% because of her cancer last year, she must really look after herself and she needed rest! She came home to sleep and went in to Halifax this morning. I did not go with her today because we have so many tings to get done in a short time and Andrew, our oldest son, has been needing our help. I called Mom and she said that they had to stretch his leg which caused a lot of pain and they have Dad drugged so much that he is not making any sense and the Dr. has still not given any word to when. So…he is not able to eat just in case they operate. I just feel so sad… and my poor Dad keeps saying this is not where he wants to be…he wants to be home, having BBQ’s and enjoying time with his family.

This is something that we have no control over and it is very tiring and frustrating for my parents who are in their 70’s. I would ask my faithful readers if you would be so kind to keep my Mom & Dad in your thoughts and prayers, and hopefully he will have his surgery soon!!!

In the meantime we must wait…

Dad with his leg in traction waiting for surgery!
Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

3 thoughts on “When The Unexpected Happens…”

  1. I think that traveling the world seeing different ways of life and different views of the world is an amazing thing to do. I wish you the best of luck on your future adventures!

Leave a Reply

