Capybaras Playground

Before coming to Brazil, I heard of an animal called a capybara. I didn’t think they were real. I mean…a rodent that looks like a Guinea pig but the size of a small dog? Sounds like a fish story to me!

But there are capybaras! There are some in Resende. They like to play along the river bank in the early morning.

The capybara according to Wikepedia is the largest rodent in the world and native to South America. The capybara inhabits savanas  and dense forests and lives near bodies of water. It is a highly social species and can be found in groups as large as 100 individuals, but usually lives in groups of 10–20 individuals. The capybara is not a threatened species, though it is hunted for its meat and skin. They actually make capybara purses and boots in Argentina! A typical capybara is 3-4 feet long, 25 inches tall and weighs 150lb.

The best time to see the capybaras in Resende is early morning along the river. An early morning stroll…and there is usually a couple playing in the grass along the riverbank. When James was here we went for a stroll close to sunset and saw some nibbling away at the grass along the riverbank. They remind me of the guinea pigs our kids had, only a larger version. They are so cool.

Capybara in the grass along the river

Capybara’s Playground

So cute!
Capybara poop!

I can’t believe I have finally seen them! Now I just need to capture the parrots I see fly over my apartment…might be a little trickier!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

2 thoughts on “Capybaras Playground”

  1. Cool pictures, Anna! They are an interesting creature. There are actually a few at the zoo in Aylesford, although I’m sure seeing them in their natural habitat is much more interesting. I wonder what they think of the NS winters.

    1. O Cool, I didn’t realize there were Capybaras at the Ayelsford Zoo! It is really cool to see them. When we took James back to the airport in Sao Paulo there was a small lake close to the airport that had so many of them!! Love keeping up with you guys,it’s great the boys are enjoying school so much! I’ll bet you are all excited for vacay!! We fly in 11 days :))

Leave a Reply

