It Was Only A Matter Of Time!

HERE IT IS…

I knew it was only a matter of time. Where and when I did not know and because of this unsettled feeling, I took matters into my own hands!!

It’s something I knew I would have to face sooner or later when coming to Brazil and so instead of waiting for it to happen, I decided I would be the one to decide WHEN!!!!

SNAKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just to hear the word makes my skin crawl. Anyone who knows me knows I am deathly afraid and terrified of snakes. I FREAK and turn inside out when I see even a little one. Brazil is known for having many snakes, some are harmless, but most are quite dangerous.

I haven’t seen one in the wild yet, although there are many in our area. I love the hike to the waterfalls and various places we go but ALWAYS, and I mean always, in the back of my mind is the thought of “Will I see a snake today?”

So when I knew we would be in Sao Paulo for a couple days, I knew I wanted to visit the Butantan Institute. The Butantan Institute is the main producer of antivenoms and antitoxins in Latin America. It was established in 1901, and the first director, scientist and physician Vital Brazil was the first to conduct research on snakes and their venoms and to start the antivenom production in Brazil.

There is a Biological Museum and a Serpentarium that has many live snakes with information about them and the regions they are found in Brazil. I thought many would be found in more Northern Brazil, close to the Amazon, but found that there are A LOT found in the area we live!!

I wanted to see what’s here in Brazil…but in a controlled environment!

Looking in the “Snake pit”

The Serpentarium was built in 1912. This outdoor “Snake Pit” allows the observation of Brazilian snakes in an environment like their natural habitat. Students from the Institute conduct studies and projects here.

Students conducting research

And if that wasn’t enough, we went inside to see a more extensive live exhibit. Even though they were all behind glass, I was still a little nervous!! Here are just some of the snakes they have here…

Ughhh….it gives me the “willies” but I faced my fear! Well, sort of… I’ve made it through 4 months without seeing one out in the wild. I just hope and pray that I NEVER see one of these snakes…

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

