My Trip to the Otorrinolaringologist

For a girl who doesn’t like appointments, especially Doctor or Dentist or hospital…I have been having my fair share the last couple years.

First a medical required to go to China, xray and cardiogram and blood work (lots and lots of vials) eye test, and then countless trips to the Travel Clinic for every needle out there, to be able to travel within China and Brazil safely.

Then when we came to Brazil we decided to get some dental work done, a cleaning and some old fillings replaced. We got xrays just to make sure there weren’t any cavities or anything else that needed done.

Thursday when I had a dental appointment, Dr. Fernanda showed me my xray…and said it looks like I have a sinus infection. Really?! I was surprised. She showed me the images and said it looked quite serious and referred me to an Otorrinolaringologist. What in the world is an Otorrinolaringologist?! Turns out it is just a really big name for a physician specializing in ear, nose, and throat diseases. Phew! Oh ok, that sounds much better! Dr Fernanda was concerned and thinks this may be the cause of the headaches I have been having.

Freaky!!!

When I came home I did a little bit of research and it could also explain why since I have been in Brazil, I have been dizzy and light headed a lot and get car sick and sea sick very easily. Hmmm? Guess it’s worth looking in to!

Anyway, Dr. Fernanda referred me to Dr. Elaine which is the otorrinolaringologist in Resende. She told me where her office was and I actually knew the place. The girls and I explored this area one day when we were out walking.

Manejo Comercial Center
Manejo Comercial Center inside

On Friday I went to the office to set up a consultation. Even with my limited Portuguese and the receptionist not speaking any English, I got an appointment for Monday. The receptionist reassured me that Dr. Elaine speaks a bit of English.

Monday (yesterday) I arrived, with my xrays in hand, a little bit nervous. It was very very busy, people sitting inside the office as well as outside in the mall area. I told the receptionist I was there and David and I waited outside in the mall. An older man was sitting at the reception desk and he got up and came out and asked us in Portuguese what language we spoke, if it was just English.  We told him English and he started to speak to us in English and told us the receptionist would like me to fill out a card with my name, birth date, address and phone number. We looked after that detail and then stepped out of the crowded office again. We thanked the man for translating for us and he said actually Dr. Elaine ( pronounced Elainey) was his wife, and he was very happy to help.

When he said his wife was the doctor I thought of something my friend Pam mentioned so I asked him if a couple months ago he remembered offering 2 American ladies a glass of water and then driving them home. He smiled and said yes, and I told him they were my amigas! Pam and Elise were very very happy for his “Good Samaritan” kindness that day!

During our hour or so wait this very kind man, whose name we learned is Ambrosios ( I think,,,that’s what I will call him anyway ) stayed with us and chatted. He is Greek, and he and his wife have lived in Brazil for the last 32 years. We talked about many many things and we learned that in Greece at many of the homes, at the front gate, there is a fountain and a water glass so that passersby may help themselves to a glass of water. So it was very much a part of the Greek culture for him to offer my friends a glass of water.

When it was time for my appointment, we told Dr. Elaine how nice it was to chat with her husband. She said if we thought it would be Ok, that he could come in with us and translate as her English wasn’t that great. We were happy that Ambrosios was there, and sure enough I have some sinus infection. I got 3 prescriptions ( 2 antibiotics and a nasal spray) and it was very helpful to have him explain the dosage. We said our goodbye to Dr. Elaine, paid for the appointment, and booked another one for 10 days to make sure everything is cleared up. Ambrosios said he would be very happy to walk with us to the drug store just up the street and help us get the prescription filled. It is the drug store he and his wife use all the time because it is less expensive and to top it off, he even got us a discount on each prescription! It is just so wonderful to meet such kind, helpful people when you are in a foreign land.

We walked back to our car and as we were leaving he said he hopes to see us again and maybe over a glass of water!

20120813-220610.jpg

20120813-220844.jpg

So that was my trip to the Otorrinolaringologist. Now to start these meds and the nose wash thing…hopefully it will clear up whatever mess is inside my sinus and no more dizzy and car sick. Who would have thought?

Published by

Adventure For Two

I am from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada and I'm back from traveling with my husband on an expat assignment to foreign lands. 2011-2012 we were in Shenyang, China. Spring 2012- Spring 2013 we were in Resende,RJ Brazil then back to Shenyang, China in July 2013 until the end of July 2014. Expat life WAS amazing! Adventure abounds no matter where we travel to. We really enjoyed the amazing opportunity to live and experience culture and tradition in these places. BUT now we are finished and adjusting to life in our small town in Canada. Our days of travel and adventure are not over.

Leave a Reply

